Mary Louise Epperson Smith [Eddyville]

The only woman to chair the Republican National Committee; served on the board of the U.S. Institute of Peace

Louise Rosenfield Noun [Des Moines]

Social activist, art collector, author, philanthropist

Co-founders of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women’s Archives at the University of Iowa

Annie Turner Wittenmyer [Keokuk]

Cared for sick and wounded Union soldiers; built homes for orphans and widows of war veterans

Evelyn Scott Davis [Hiteman]

Founded Tiny Tot Child Care Center for low-income families; recognized nationally for her work with inner city issues

Mary Lundby [Carroll]

Served four terms in the Iowa House and two terms in the Senate; served as Minority Leader and Co-Majority Leader

Minnette Frerichs Doderer [Holland]

Served seven terms in the Iowa House and two terms in the Senate; first woman to serve as Speaker pro tem

Carrie Lane Chapman Catt [Charles City]

National leader in the struggle for woman suffrage; first president of the League of Women Voters of the U.S.

Ola Babcock Miller [Washington]

First woman elected Iowa Secretary of State; founder of the Iowa Highway Patrol in 1934

Amelia Jenks Bloomer [Council Bluffs]

Woman suffragist; designed comfortable clothes to replace tight corsets and unwieldy skirts

Annie Nowlin Savery [Des Moines]

Self-educated; leading spokesperson for the suffrage movement in Iowa

Cities in [ ] indicate the place of birth or the place of residence. Four of these women were not born in Iowa: Annie Wittenmyer, Sandy Springs, Ohio; Carrie Chapman Catt, Ripon,Wisconsin; Amelia Bloomer, Homer, New York; Annie Savery, London, England.